Reading Ladder: The Magician’s Nephew-The Dream House Kings

One of the middle schoolers I am working with this summer is reading The Magician’s Nephew by CS Lewis for one of his summer reading books. I’m sure I read it when I was young. We had a box set of the Narnia series and I remember my mom reading The Lion, The Witch, and the Wardrobe. I have vague recollections of some of the other books, but I don’t really remember the other stories. So I am reading The Magician’s Nephew along with my student and am currently at the part where they have arrived in Narnia as the Lion is singing into existence creation. What a cool depiction of the Genesis 1 Creation account! The Bible says that God spoke everything into being, but I really like the idea of the lion’s song and music creating the world!

The book is also reminding me of Robert Liparulo’s Dream House Kings series. The King family discover doorways in their attic that transport them to different worlds and points in history. In The Magician’s Nephew, Digory and Polly use rings and pools of water to travel. Both books play with the idea of what if someone from another world came into the modern world on Earth. Both books are thrilling, mysterious, and full of adventure and meaning.

Anyone from age 8 or so and up will enjoy The Magician’s Nephew. The Dream House Kings (a 6 book series) is a little darker and a little more violent. I would say its more appropriate for ages 12 and up. The Dream House Kings is good for those who like suspense, mystery, etc, maybe even horror.

65610

 

 

2330877

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Recommendations, Summer Reading

Leave a Reply

